Reframing ‘Marketing’

Bill Hicks Marketing Quote

“Seriously, I know the marketing
people: ‘There’s gonna be a joke
comin’ up.’ There’s no fuckin’ joke.
Suck a tail pipe.”

By the way, if anyone here is in marketing or advertising…

If you’re unfamiliar with that famous Bill Hicks soliloquy, that link features a few of his quotes (sadly, it paraphrases, & is absent Hicks’ delivery; it’s preferable to search him on YouTube).

His view is my view, except I’m a little less murderous about it. Just a tad. Hence, my heretofore resistance to ‘marketing’ my creative endeavours. B/c fuck adapting my inspiration into a commodity.

In the following video interview, Laura Mappin explains to Melissa Dinwiddie why she was driven to reframe the distasteful term ‘marketing’ (though, interestingly, not ‘how’ – superstitious, perhaps?). Basically, she gets the same squicky feeling that I do about it, b/c the term is loaded with a negative, ‘gimme your money’ mindset.

Laura’s ‘why’ isn’t new. As much as the marketplace (& the idea of pandering to it) pisses me off, my internal cynic asks my internal cynic this question:

Q: What’s the difference between a marketing artist & a market-rejecting artist?

A: One makes art that sells to other people, & one fucks around between the times s/he cleans up the shit & vomit of (or serves food to, or sits the kids of, or files taxes for) other people.

And so starts my motivated self-interest regarding at least an introductory investigation into the potential monster that is Internet marketing.

With the embed, I’ve set a start point roughly half-way through; if it fails, f-fwd to 4m12s, when Laura gets to the point…

Leave a comment

Filed under art, opinion

Leave a Reply

