Day 1 + Day 2 – 30 Day Comic Book Challenge

I’m not a regular blogger, so I may not have the fortitude to post daily, but I’ll give this a shot. If you haven’t heard of this ego-centric exercise, several blogging comic fans are doing it (I’m a joiner!). I first learned about it from this Facebook group.

Day 1 – Your First Comic Book

1978 - For Me, the Year It All Began

1978 – For Me, the Year It All Began

It was my 8th birthday when my Mom blessed me with two a grocery store multipacks of comic books. This was 1978 & I was THRILLED! One issue each of Thor, Green Lantern/Green Arrow, The Amazing Spider-Man & The Human Fly. Spidey & HF lost their covers soon thereafter; Thor got coloured on with ballpoint pen (the great expanses of space on the giant T-H-O-R were begging for graffiti).

GL/GA inspired my longstanding dislike of the DCU. It was incomprehensible (keep in mind I had an undiagnosed, recognized-in-retrospect learning disability); I remember scouring the text for indications of character names & couldn’t match anything up. Hell, I read the cover with the typical English convention of L-R, & so, for years, it was Green Green Lantern Arrow. And trashed & discarded quickly, & memorable for it.

Day 2 – Your Favourite Comic Book Character

American Splendor - Another Dollar

Excerpt from American Splendor – Another Dollar

Wow – that’s a toughy. So, so many; it changes often, depending on what I’ve read lately.

With a library copy of American Splendor: Another Dollar recently enjoyed, I have to go with the young lady who helped Harvey Pekar – a stranger – get his car boosted.  She displays an ideology & openness I try to live up to.

FYI – The 30 Day Comic Challenge challenges, as they will come:

Day 01 – Your first comic book.
Day 02 – Your favourite character.
Day 03 – A comic that is underrated.
Day 04 – Your guilty pleasure comic or character.
Day 05 – Comic character you feel you are most like (or wish you were).
Day 06 – Most annoying character.
Day 07 – Favourite comic couple.
Day 08 – Best series being published right now.
Day 09 – Most touching comic book/comic book scene.
Day 10 – Dream versus match.
Day 11 – Favourite comic book cartoon series.
Day 12 – A comic everyone should read.
Day 13 – A book you’ve read more than five times.
Day 14 – Most awesome single comic book image
Day 15 – A Picture from the comic you’re reading right now.
Day 16 – Funniest comic book/comic book scene.
Day 17 – Most useless Villain.
Day 18 – Favourite B-list character.
Day 19 – Comic book city/universe you wish you lived in.
Day 20 – Favourite super power or skill.
Day 21 – Favourite writer.
Day 22 – A series that you liked but stopped reading
Day 23 – Your favourite artist.
Day 24 – dream character team up.
Day 25 – A book you plan on reading.
Day 26 – A comic you wish they would make into a movie.
Day 27 – Favourite comic book movie.
Day 28 – Favourite comic publisher.
Day 29 – A comic you thought you wouldn’t like, but ended up loving.
Day 30 – Your favourite run or series of all time.

Leave a comment

Filed under comics, life, opinion

Comments are closed.