Culture Days

Pencilling the first OpinioNation during Culture Days @ Martin House

Pencilling the first OpinioNation during Culture Days @ Martin House

Martin House hosted a Culture Days event yesterday; at Derek Martin’s request, I took part & it was an honour to do so. He & Tracey Martin are gracious hosts with a lovely workspace & great friends whom, I hope, will become my friends.

For my part, I penciled a few panels for an upcoming webcomic. When asked, I showed off the cartoon portraits & few pages of original art I’d taken with me. In a future Culture Days post, I’ll describe the musical experimentation I was lucky enough to indulge in.

I’m bad with names, so I won’t introduce the Martin House Culture Day co-conspirators until I have contact information for them, but I do have someplace to start.

It turns out Roy Hickling is a mutual friend of several people I know in the Orillia area folk community; Jennifer Ives, Don Bray & Paul Court were names dropped in passing. Roy’s a remarkable & diverse artist. I listened to his gallery of original songs while peeking through his painting, sculpture & photography; it’s vibrant & full of emotion & I have no doubt you will be as impressed as I am.

Leave a comment

Filed under art, friends

Leave a Reply

